GitHub API fetched 2026-09-22 · re-checked 2026-10-19

15 open-source orchestrators, one table of same-day 2026-09-22 numbers

It lays the same-day numbers from 15 repositories side by side, so you can see who still pushes, which licence family a tool belongs to, and whether it is a desktop app or a command line, without opening each README. Stars and forks move daily, so every number is pinned to its fetch day, 2026-09-22; re-check against today's API before quoting. Orca's own row is measured with the same ruler and placed first. On 2026-10-19 the same 15 repositories were pulled again from GitHub: the head of the table holds, the leader has reached ★97,847, and the README of the second-placed tool opens with a sunsetting notice.

Updated 2026-10-20

Point this tool at the QCode endpoint — one key for Claude, GPT and Chinese models.

#2026-09-22 stars#7 MIT licences#form: README quotes only#silent means blank

Four dimensions you can count on the fetch day

15 tools · 1 above 50,000

Stars and activity

Ranked by 2026-09-22 stars: Orca first at ★75,454, vibe-kanban second at ★28,168, cmux third at ★27,335; sculptor last at ★232, terragon-oss just ahead of it at ★259. Only 1 of 15 clears 50,000. For upkeep look at the last push: 3 pushed before 2026-06-01 — crystal (2026-02-26), uzi (2025-06-04), terragon-oss (2026-02-10). Stars are a stock signal; the push date is the "does anyone still tend this" signal, and you need both. Checked 2026-10-19.

MIT 7 · API unsure 3

A licence is not a two-way open/closed switch

7 are MIT (Orca included), 5 Apache-2.0, 1 AGPL-3.0 (claude-squad); Worktrunk is MIT OR Apache-2.0, your pick. For 3 more the GitHub API says NOASSERTION — its classifier did not match the file, there is still a licence: cmux's README says GPL-3.0-or-later, Superset's says Elastic License 2.0 (ELv2), Worktrunk's says MIT OR Apache-2.0, all three verifiable word for word. If you plan to commercialise or distribute in closed form, AGPL and ELv2 are a different matter from MIT, so that column deserves its own look. Checked 2026-10-19.

verbatim-backed 11 / 15; the 4 blank rows are filled from READMEs

Form and model source: only where a README says it

For the form, model-source and pricing columns the pull of 2026-09-22 fetched and word-checked 11 READMEs; in the 2026-10-19 round the 4 that were missing (nimbalyst, parallel-code, uzi, terragon-oss) were fetched too, so those 4 rows now carry three cells written from sentences in the READMEs pulled on 2026-10-19, with the fetch day written in the row, while the other 11 rows keep their 2026-09-22 anchors. Desktop app, terminal-native, command line, cloud: each wording belongs to one repository. The cheap lie in a comparison is writing that a tool is like this because most of its kind are.

1 issue: #10769

Parallelism and git speed: a user's own numbers, no vendor benchmark, and a retracted cause

Whether git itself gets slower as parallelism grows is something public sources cover only as a user's own account, never as a vendor benchmark — and the cause such an account named was later retracted by its own reporter. An open issue in the Orca repository (#10769, filed 2026-07-26 by AmethystLiang, 2 comments, fetched 2026-09-22) reports: with 297 live worktrees in one repository, git commit from the Source Control panel went from about 1.5s to a median of 8.9s (peak 21.6s), with .git at 1.1G, and its author pointed at degraded automatic maintenance of the shared object store. At the top of that same body now sits the reporter's own follow-up: further measurement disproved that causal claim, the worktree count was not the measured driver, the data does not support using it as a Git-cost threshold, and what still stands is that slow Git operations are invisible in the UI. It is one repository on one day, self-reported, not a reproducible benchmark, and it describes Orca alone. It is on the table because people choosing an orchestrator ask exactly this — read it with the qualification now written at the top of that issue. Re-checked 2026-10-19.

How to read this table

15 rows, five parts each: stars (GitHub API of 2026-09-22), licence, last push date, latest release with its publish date, then form, model source and pricing. The first four come straight from the API archive — a machine read them, nobody transcribed them. The last three are filled only where that repository's README has been checked word for word: the pull of 2026-09-22 fetched 11 READMEs, and in the re-check round the remaining 4 (nimbalyst, parallel-code, uzi, terragon-oss) were fetched too and filled from their own sentences, with both fetch days written in the row; a neighbour's description is never borrowed. One licence caveat: the GitHub API returns NOASSERTION for 3 of them, which means its classifier did not recognise the file — not that there is no licence. cmux, Superset and Worktrunk each state their licence verbatim in the README, so that is what the column says, with the source marked in brackets. Checked 2026-10-19.

Why a fetch day is mandatory

A star table without a fetch day is wrong the next day: the 15 rows here are pinned to 2026-09-22, and when GitHub was pulled again on 2026-10-19 the leader Orca had reached ★97,847, second-placed vibe-kanban ★28,395, third cmux ★28,273, superset ★15,368 and agent-orchestrator ★13,360; worktrunk passed claude-squad at ★9,309 against ★8,627, so the head of the middle band changed hands. Releases moved too: Orca shipped v1.4.230 that day and superset shipped desktop-v1.39.0 that day, while the latest release of sculptor is sculptor-v0.49.0rc2; the last push of vibe-kanban sits at 2026-09-19 and its README opens with a sunsetting notice. The earlier fetch recorded that day's contrast: within the same day the largest star gap among these 15 is not at the top but at the tail: terragon-oss has ★259 while the second-placed vibe-kanban has ★28,168 — a factor of 108. Speed of change matters more: Orca went from 73,754 on 09-21 to 75,454 on 2026-09-22, 1,700 in a day. So this page appends the fetch day (2026-09-22) to every number and lists each latest release's publish date as well — release dates show whether a project is still moving this week better than stars do: orca 2026-09-22, vibe-kanban 2026-04-24, cmux 2026-09-17, superset 2026-09-21, agent-orchestrator 2026-09-12. Checked 2026-09-23.

Time anchors of this page

2026-09-22

2026-09-22: every star, fork, licence, pushed_at and latest_release on this page comes from that day's GitHub API archive, 15 repositories in total; the same day 10 full READMEs were fetched, and they are where the form and model-source anchors come from. That day Orca stood at 75,454 stars, 1,700 more than its 09-21 value of 73,754.

2026-07-26

2026-07-26: issue #10769 filed in the Orca repository, reporting the git-commit latency change at 297 live worktrees in one repository; still open on the fetch day. What is written there is one user's own record for one day on one machine, not reproduced by anyone else and good only for that repository on that day — not a reproducible benchmark.

2026-09-23

2026-09-23: the four languages of this page were finalised. Stars and releases move with versions, so every number is locked to the 2026-09-22 fetch day; if you come back in a few days, re-fetch today's API instead of reusing this page. 2026-10-19: the repo and releases listings for 15 repositories, 15 default-branch READMEs and the body of issue #10769 were re-pulled from GitHub — the three figures there are still 297 live worktrees, a median of about 1.5s to 8.9s, and .git at 1.1G. The 2026-09-22 column of numbers stays as it was; the standings found now are written in the section Why a fetch day is mandatory.

What you can compare yourself vs what only the vendor can say

What a sentence in the archive backs

Checked 2026-10-19; these match the GitHub API archive word for word: 1) stargazers_count, forks_count, license.spdx_id, pushed_at and the tag plus published_at of the latest release for all 15 repositories; 2) Orca being MIT with 75,454 stars and 4,939 forks; 3) three verbatim licence sentences in READMEs (GPL-3.0-or-later at cmux, Elastic License 2.0 at Superset, MIT OR Apache-2.0 at Worktrunk); 4) the issue #10769 sentences: 297 live worktrees, about 1.5s to 8.9s median with a peak of 21.6s, and .git at 1.1G, plus the reporter's own follow-up sentences standing at the top of that same body, word for word checkable as well — the 301 worktrees were not the measured driver, the ~35s cost came from --reflog enumerating 7,330 reflog files, one fork alone contributed 2,470 refs and reflog files, and the data does not support a count threshold such as ~100 as a Git-cost predictor. The re-check archive is checkable the same way: the repo and releases listings of 15 repositories, 15 READMEs, and the licence wording in those three READMEs. All of that stays at the level of the archive containing the sentence; whether the numbers make one tool better than another depends on your own constraints.

⚠️ Three things people assume

First: «more stars means it fits me». Stars measure attention, not the size of your repository, whether you want a GUI, or whether you can live with AGPL; in the 2026-10-19 re-pull of these 15 the tool with the most stars and the tail entry sculptor both had a release that day, while the second-most-starred one stopped being pushed on 2026-09-19 — a star count does not tell you whether a project still moves next week. Second: «GitHub shows NOASSERTION, so there is no licence and no commercial use». That only means the automatic classifier failed to match the file; all three state their terms in their own README, and Superset's ELv2 is precisely a licence with usage restrictions — the opposite direction. Third: «it is in the table, so it is still maintained». crystal's last push sits at 2026-02-26 and the top of its README says the project was replaced by Nimbalyst, and uzi's last push sits at 2025-06-04; upkeep is read from dates like those, not from being in a table. Re-checked 2026-10-19.

Middle 5 and last 5

Middle 5, starting with claude-squad

claude-squad: ★8,522 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence AGPL-3.0 (API) · last push 2026-08-20 · latest release v1.0.20 (2026-08-20) · form terminal TUI, several sessions in one window · model drives local agent CLIs; Codex brings its own key · pricing pricing not mentioned; source is AGPL-3.0 worktrunk: ★8,339 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence MIT OR Apache-2.0 (README) · last push 2026-09-22 · latest release v0.79.0 (2026-09-21) · form CLI (the wt command plus shell integration) · model drives external CLI agents (example: claude) · pricing open source, MIT OR Apache-2.0 emdash: ★5,806 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence Apache-2.0 (API) · last push 2026-09-22 · latest release v1.2.6 (2026-09-21) · form desktop app (three platforms) · model reuses the CLI agents already installed · pricing open source under Apache-2.0 container-use: ★4,046 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence Apache-2.0 (API) · last push 2026-09-21 · latest release v0.4.2 (2025-08-19) · form CLI tool plus a stdio MCP server · model model comes from the host agent; no key or subscription mentioned · pricing open source (Apache-2.0), pricing not mentioned crystal: ★3,120 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence MIT (API) · last push 2026-02-26 · latest release v0.3.5 (2026-02-26) · form deprecated (2026-02; form not stated) · model model source not stated in the README · pricing pricing not stated in the README

Last 5 (star 232–1,762)

sculptor: ★232 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence MIT (API) · last push 2026-09-22 · latest release sculptor-v0.48.0 (2026-09-21) · form desktop app: runs coding agents in parallel · model through external agents such as Claude Code/Pi · pricing calls itself open source, pricing not mentioned; nimbalyst: ★1,762 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence MIT (API) · last push 2026-09-21 · latest release v0.77.5 (2026-09-09) · form, model and pricing (README fetched 2026-10-19): desktop app for macOS, Windows and Linux with an iOS companion app; several coding agents at once, each isolated in its own git worktree; the README lists Codex and Claude Code side by side, OpenCode and GitHub Copilot marked alpha, plus a Gemini provider; the README calls it MIT licensed; parallel-code: ★1,018 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence MIT (API) · last push 2026-09-22 · latest release v3.0.1 (2026-09-19) · form, model and pricing (README fetched 2026-10-19): dispatches coding agents in parallel, each in its own worktree; the README names Claude Code, Codex and Gemini; no extra subscription needed, MIT licence; uzi: ★583 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence MIT (API) · last push 2025-06-04 · latest release v0.0.2 (2025-06-03) · form, model and pricing (README fetched 2026-10-19): command-line tool, one tmux session per agent, worktrees managed automatically; on the model side the README says your AI tool of choice, naming claude and codex; no price stated in the README; terragon-oss: ★259 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence Apache-2.0 (API) · last push 2026-02-10 · GitHub API lists no release · form, model and pricing (README fetched 2026-10-19): the README says work is delegated to coding agents in the cloud and calls itself an open-source snapshot left at shutdown; on the model side it says bring your own subscription or API keys; no price stated in the README

The top rows, counting Orca

orca: ★75,454 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence MIT (API) · last push 2026-09-22 · latest release v1.4.207 (2026-09-22) · form desktop app plus a phone companion, orchestrating parallel worktrees · model model source not stated in the README · pricing free and open source (MIT) vibe-kanban: ★28,168 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence Apache-2.0 (API) · last push 2026-09-19 · latest release v0.1.44-20260424091429 (2026-04-24) · form local desktop app with a browser interface · model model source: the coding agent you already authenticated · pricing pricing not stated in the README cmux: ★27,335 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence GPL-3.0-or-later (README) · last push 2026-09-22 · latest release v0.64.25 (2026-09-17) · form native macOS terminal (not Electron/Tauri) · model model source: the agent CLIs you installed yourself · pricing free and open source under GPL, plus a paid Founders tier superset: ★14,501 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence Elastic License 2.0 (ELv2) (README) · last push 2026-09-22 · latest release desktop-v1.30.1 (2026-09-21) · form desktop app plus CLI/SDK/MCP · model runs any CLI agent; you can plug in OpenRouter · pricing desktop is free forever; anything paid is an optional service agent-orchestrator: ★12,267 (GitHub API 2026-09-22) · licence Apache-2.0 (API) · last push 2026-09-22 · latest release v0.13.0 (2026-09-12) · form desktop app plus a local daemon · model plugs into the coding agents you already have · pricing open source under Apache-2.0, no price stated (every star above is the GitHub API value for 2026-09-22)

What this has to do with QCode

An orchestrator answers «how many agents run at once and where do their edits land»; models and billing sit on the other side: across the 15 READMEs fetched for this table (11 in the 2026-09-22 pull, 4 more on 2026-10-19) the model source is almost always stated as the agents you already installed or authenticated, and Orca itself ships no model. So what sets the cost is the token price and cache behaviour on that other side, not the orchestrator's star count. QCode is on that side: one key, billed per token, per-model rates listed on /models, and the CLIs above point at their own endpoint while the orchestrator runs them in parallel. For agents that run always-on or in parallel, Orca's own README treats a remote machine as a normal case; in that setup you can use QCode cloud servers: the server sits overseas, install Claude Code or Codex on it, and call models through QCode's endpoints with your QCode key. AI services and cloud servers share one balance; see the line comparison on qcode.cc/en/cloud.

Questions

Whose stars are these, and can I still use them?

All of them are the GitHub API values for 2026-09-22, with the fetch day written after each number. Whether you can use them depends on what you want them for: as an order of magnitude and a relative position, one day does not change the conclusion (Orca 75,454 against second-placed 28,168); as an exact figure, no — Orca alone gained 1,700 within that same day. To quote, go back to the 2026-09-22 archive or fetch it yourself today. Checked 2026-10-19.

GitHub shows NOASSERTION — does that project have no licence?

No. NOASSERTION only means GitHub's automated matching could not tie the LICENSE file to a known term; 3 of the 15 carry it. Looking again at those READMEs on 2026-10-19: the cmux section says it is open source under GPL-3.0-or-later and, in the same passage, that its server software runs under BSL 1.1; Superset says the whole app is in the repository under Elastic License 2.0 and that the single excluded thing is packaging Superset itself as a service you sell to others; the Worktrunk badge says MIT OR Apache-2.0. So read that column either from the README or from the repository's LICENSE file — a failed recognition is not an absent licence.

Which of the 15 are GPL, AGPL or ELv2 — does commercial use need a separate look?

7 MIT, 5 Apache-2.0, 1 AGPL-3.0 (claude-squad); Worktrunk is MIT or Apache-2.0 as you choose; cmux is GPL-3.0-or-later per its README and Superset is Elastic License 2.0. Past the clause names, those READMEs also say what each clause actually allows and forbids: Superset writes that under ELv2 you can use it, fork it, modify it and self-host it for your team; cmux puts its server software under Business Source License 1.1 — reading, modifying and running it outside production are allowed, while production use or self-hosting needs a commercial licence, and the same section adds that commercial terms may be available to organisations that cannot comply with GPL; on the MIT and Apache-2.0 side the README gives a one-line grant statement and leaves the wording to the LICENSE file it links (emdash and agent-orchestrator are both like that). AGPL is about the source-provision duty when you serve over a network, ELv2 explicitly forbids reselling the product itself as a service, GPL about its propagation terms — none of the three behaves like «just use it» MIT, and running it internally differs from offering it as a service. The full text of each clause stands in the repository's own LICENSE and README. The licence counts were checked on 2026-10-19; the quoted README sentences come from the fetch of 2026-10-19.

Does running dozens of agents slow git down? Are there numbers?

What is findable in public is a user's own report, not a benchmark. Orca issue #10769 (filed 2026-07-26, still open on the fetch day) said at the time: in one repository at 297 live worktrees the median git commit went from about 1.5s to 8.9s, peak 21.6s, .git at 1.1G, with the cause pointed at degraded automatic maintenance of the shared object store. The reporter himself later retracted that causality: the top of that same body is now his follow-up, where further measurement disproved the original causal claim, the 301 worktrees were not the measured driver, adding --indexed-objects changed the enumeration cost negligibly, and the ~35s cost came from --reflog having to enumerate 7,330 reflog files, most of them created by Orca-managed fork remotes fetching every branch, one fork alone contributing 2,470 refs and reflog files. The follow-up also says that worktree count is still useful context, that the data does not support a count threshold such as ~100 as a Git-cost predictor, and that the original report stays as investigation history. What still stands is the product question: slow Git operations are invisible in the UI, and workspace and shared-store health has no path from the symptom. The direction given is to narrow managed fork fetches to the exact branch with --no-tags and to keep eligible Orca-spawned commits and fetches from triggering auto-maintenance on the critical path. It is one repository on one day, told by one user; different repository sizes and worktree counts will differ, and it describes Orca alone. To judge whether this reaches you, look at the scale of refs and reflog files in your own repository and at how many branches a managed fork pulls, not at how many worktrees you have. Re-checked 2026-10-19.

Do fewer stars mean a worse tool?

The table itself points the other way: 3 pushed before 2026-06-01, among them crystal at ★3,120 whose latest release is 2026-02-26, while tail sculptor at ★232 shipped a release as recently as 2026-09-21 — closer to now than several with more stars. When GitHub was pulled again on 2026-10-19, sculptor stood at ★240 and had shipped sculptor-v0.49.0rc2 that day; the freshly fetched README of crystal says it has been deprecated and replaced by Nimbalyst, and the README of nimbalyst at ★1,935 came back in the same round. Tools are chosen by constraint match (licence, form, your repository size) and by upkeep; stars are a by-product of search popularity.

How are the form, model-source and pricing cells filled, and why do two fetch days appear in the rows?

The 2026-09-22 pull fetched and word-checked 11 full READMEs; for the other 4 (nimbalyst, parallel-code, uzi, terragon-oss) it held API metadata only, so those three cells said «not fetched». In the 2026-10-19 round all 4 READMEs came back and those cells were filled from the sentences of that day, with the fetch day written in the row; the other 11 rows keep their 2026-09-22 anchors. These columns answer one question: does this repository's README contain this sentence? A cell is filled only where a sentence exists, and one repository's wording is never moved onto another — the most expensive mistake in a comparison is putting into a subject's mouth something it never said.

Sources

Same-day repository metadata: the GitHub REST repo and releases/latest endpoints, 15 repositories, fetched 2026-09-22 and stored locally as immutable archives named by response sha16. README text: each repository's default-branch README, fetched the same day (the 10 repositories whose READMEs were checked in full, plus Orca). Issue: the body of github.com/stablyai/orca/issues/10769, same day. On 2026-10-19 the same batch was pulled again: the repo data and the newest release entry of 15 repositories, 15 default-branch READMEs, and the body of that issue. Second-hand leaderboards, reviews and aggregators sit outside the citation scope; «not stated» always means the text fetched does not contain the sentence.

Use your own constraints to rule most of them out

Three steps: first the licence (if you distribute in closed form, pull AGPL and ELv2 out and read their terms); then the last push and the latest release date (half a year without either is an easy cut); then the form (terminal or desktop, per each README's own wording). Install the one or two that survive and try them. The model bill is separate: Personal Plans give a daily quota valid for 30 days, and if a day runs short you can buy a booster pack. With no personal plan and no wish for a monthly one, Pay-as-you-go Packs start at $4 for a one-time quota you use within 7 days.

The Composable AI Coding Stack

The explicit consensus of 2026: pick one piece each for the orchestration layer, the execution layer and the review layer — most developers run 2-3 tools at once. The base of a composite stack is a model-access layer that speaks to every vendor.

Instead of betting on one tool to do everything, you pick per layer: the orchestration layer breaks tasks down and dispatches them to suitable executors (Claude Code subagents, custom workflows); the execution layer does the actual coding (Cursor, Cline, Claude Code, agy, etc.); the review layer uses a model from a different family than the executor as an independent gate, avoiding 'grading your own homework.' Within each layer, models are routed by task difficulty and price.

Tool roundups shifted from 'the best single tool' to 'the best combination': Claude Code Builders' July issue flatly states 'choosing a stack = choosing the model layer and the tool layer at once'; codeculture's headline is 'why senior developers use three tools, not one.' Two drivers: clear capability specialization between tools (in-editor completion vs long terminal tasks vs async review), and the widening price gap between models making per-task routing worth an order of magnitude.

Related reading

Crypto payment guide

Nine coins, 56 networks, zero platform fee for AI coding API credits.

This page restates public metadata and README content of 15 open-source repositories as of 2026-09-22, and the same set was pulled again on 2026-10-19; it is affiliated with none of them and holds no authorisation or inside information from them. Stars, forks, releases and push dates move with versions; «not stated» means the READMEs pulled in that check do not contain the sentence. The issue numbers are user-reported and unreproduced. For a selection decision use the official pages as they stand on the day you download.

Not sure where to start?

Try it for a week

Small Pack: $4 for $30 of quota, valid 7 days

Use it every day

Starter: $9.00/month with $5 of quota every day — just $0.060 per $1 of quota, vs about $0.113 for the Medium Pack